Countdown for 2021 Community Award Nominations



With just over 10 days to go before nominations for this year’s Community Awards close (Friday 10 September) the Guernsey Community Foundation is calling for charities, voluntary organisations, individuals, and businesses to submit their nomination forms.


The Awards, whose principal sponsor is Ravenscroft, return to St James on Tuesday 16 November 2021 to celebrate local charities, individuals, and businesses who, over the last 12 months, have raised money, delivered services, and carried out community projects for the benefit of others across the Bailiwick.


Joni Nettleship, third sector liaison at the Foundation who coordinates the Awards, said that she had already received a good number of entries but there were still room for many more and she urged people to consider a nomination.

“Every year we are extremely humbled by the achievements of the entrants.  The event itself is an amazing celebration for the third sector.  It is the only one of its kind in Guernsey where people from across the Bailiwick come together to celebrate all their achievements.

“If you are wondering whether to put forward a nomination, may I encourage you to do so.  You never know you may walk away with a significant amount of money for charity.”

Any member of the public can submit a nomination form in support of a particular charity, organising committee, fundraising team, business, or individual and self-nominations are also encouraged.

“If you need help in submitting your nomination form, we will be very happy to offer you advice regarding the type of information the judges are looking for,” said Joni.

Prize money of £3,000 will be awarded to the Charity of the Year and all other categories will receive £2,000 to be donated to a local charity of the winner’s choice.


The Awards will be held at St James on Tuesday 16 November and tickets will go on sale in October.  Details about last year’s winners can be found at


Nomination forms, together with full guidelines and criteria can be found on the Foundation’s  website or you can contact Joni Nettleship at or by phoning 01481 259523.

Nominations close at midnight on Friday 10 September 2021.


Award categories are:


Charity Of The Year sponsored by Ravenscroft
Awarded to the charity that the Judges believe has consistently delivered outstanding service to its beneficiaries; promoted and raised its cause; been clear in its goals and strategy and demonstrated excellence all round.

Organising Committee Of The Year sponsored by Julius Baer
Awarded to the organisers of an annual event, one-off project or campaign which has been particularly successful in engaging with the local community and whose participants have demonstrated great teamwork.

Outstanding Individual Achievement sponsored by PWC
Awarded to a person who has demonstrated innovation, teamwork, passion and integrity throughout their involvement, and who has produced an identifiably profound effect on a charity or voluntary organisation through their work and/or leadership. 

Fundraising Team Of The Year sponsored by CBO Projects
Awarded to a locally based fundraising team on the basis of its innovation and results that achieve or exceed the aims of a campaign, or campaigns, during the previous 12 months.

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Award sponsored by Cazenove
The CSR Award recognises the active involvement of a commercial company and its team directly with charitable, voluntary or community projects in its locality, or through its partnership with a local charitable, voluntary or community organisation that has had a quantifiably positive effect on the local community over the last year/s.

Innovation Award Sponsored by Resolution IT
The Innovation Award recognises creative ways of working that will benefit the voluntary sector or our wider community. This could include partnership working between charities and the private or public sectors and could be awarded to an individual or team. Recognition could extend to new projects; new or inventive ways of working or approaching problems that enable more effective delivery of services; filling gaps in provision; or operate outside of the normal remit of a charitable or community organisation. The Award can extend to include innovation outside of the Bailiwick, but the work must have a Guernsey link/involvement.

Youth Award sponsored by Royal Bank of Canada
Awarded to a young person or a group of young people who has made a positive difference to the community. They may have done this – for example – by caring, by volunteering, by overcoming adversity, by raising awareness of a particular issue, or by organising an event that has improved Islanders’ quality of life.  NB: A young person for the purpose of this award will be 11-25. All individuals within a group of young people must fit this age criteria.

Sign up for our newsletter